# CORPORATE ARTICLES OF AMENDMENT FOR A FAMILY FARM

<b>1</b> )
1) Name of Corporation
The Charter of the corporation is hereby amended as follows:
The corporation is a "Family Farm" as defined by Section 1-209 of the Corporations and Associations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.
This amendment of the charter of the corporation has been approved by
2)
2)
We the undersigned President and Secretary swear under penalties of perjury that the foregoing is a corporate act.
a)
3)(3) President Secretary
4) Return address of filing party



# INSTRUCTIONS FOR DRAFTING CORPORATE ARTICLES OF AMENDMENT FOR FAMILY FARMS

This amendment is appropriate to amend a Maryland Corporation to be a Family Farm and thus qualify for a reduced annual filing fee. In addition to amending the charter, to qualify, this corporation must own or control real property that is subject to an Agricultural Use Assessment and has no assets that are not agricultural or residential. In the future, if this corporation no longer meets these qualifications, the corporation must file an amendment stating that it is no longer a Family Farm. Questions addressing the merits or wording of the actual changes you are making should be discussed with your lawyer, accountant, or financial advisor. Legal questions of a general nature cannot be answered by the staff of this Department.

Each item listed below describes how to fill in the blanks on the sample.

- (1) Insert the exact name of the corporation. It must match our record in every way including spelling, punctuation, abbreviation, etc.
- (2) Select the option listed below that applies to your corporation. Only one of these options can apply.
- A) \*If this corporation has directors and shareholders, insert "the directors and shareholders".
- B) \*If this is a close corporation that has no directors, insert "the stockholders. This is a close corporation that has elected to have no directors".
- (3) Have the president and secretary sign. The signatures must be by different individuals unless this is a close corporation.
- (4) Insert your return address.

FEES: The filing fee is \$100 for standard processing or \$150 for expedited processing.

### NOTE: THESE GUIDELINES DO NOT APPLY TO AMENDMENTS FOR LLC'S, LP'S OR LLP'S.

**NOTES:** Due to the fact that the laws governing the formation and operation of business entities and the effectiveness of a UCC Financing Statement involves more than filing documents with our office, we suggest you consult an attorney, accountant or other professional. State Department of Assessments & Taxation staff cannot offer business counseling or legal advice.

Regarding annual documents to be filed with the Department of Assessments & Taxation: All domestic and foreign legal entities must submit a Personal Property Return to the Department. Failure to file a Personal Property Return will result in forfeiture of your right to conduct business in Maryland

#### **FILING INSTRUCTIONS**

#### To file online:

- Create an account with Maryland Business Express using the following link: https://egov.maryland.gov/businessexpress
- 2. Follow the instructions for filing on the Maryland Business Express portal.

## To file by mail:

Mail your filing, check or money order to:
State Department of Assessments and Taxation
Charter Division
700 East Pratt Street, Suite 2700

2. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the State Department of Assessments and Taxation or SDAT. No cash is accepted.

#### To file by hand-delivery in drop boxes:

Baltimore, Maryland 21202

- Regular Filing. A filing may be hand-delivered to the drop boxes that SDAT maintains in the building lobby at 123 Market Place, Baltimore, MD 21202.
- 2. <u>Same-day Filing</u>. A same-day expedited filing may be hand-delivered to the appropriate drop box in the building lobby at 123 Market Place, Baltimore, MD 21202. Please check the SDAT website using the following link for additional instructions about same-day service: https://dat.maryland.gov/businesses/Pages/default.aspx

#### How long will it take to process my documents?

- 1. <u>Base Filing Fee</u>. Standard non-expedited review is 6 to 8 weeks.
- 2. Expedited review. An additional \$50.00 is required for expedited review within 7 to 10 business days.
- 3. <u>Same-day review</u> Same-day expedited service requires an additional \$325 fee when filed online or \$425 fee for documents delivered to our office.

Revised: August 2024